RSS

Certain Girls by Jennifer Weiner

24 Jun

What to say….

I’m a little at a loss for words and when it comes to books, that rarely happens to me. I love Jennifer Weiner, she is one of my favorite authors and I eagerly put myself and several of my friends and patrons on hold for her new titles when they come out.  AND, being in the readers’ advisory field, I try to not put my personal opinions in my reviews but you know, that is the most frequent comment I get from the few minions I have on this site. Did you like it? Yes, I get all of that, but did you enjoy the book?

So, with that in mind, I’ll say this. I’m not sure I liked this book. Or, should I say, I just finished it yesterday and I haven’t fully recovered. I picked it up off the floor where I had thrown it the night previous and finished it, but I am still not happy and I keep thinking that this would make Jennifer Weiner triumphant. This was her intention and it worked. So be it.

Certain girls is the sequel to Good in Bed, which is the book most of us discovered Jennifer Weiner’s laugh out loud but also serious style.  The story skips forward several years to Joy as a teenager. Told from alternating viewpoints, the reader is treated to the frantic love of a mother trying to hold on to her child as well as the child who is ready to be treated like an adult and is searching for her identity…without mom. You ache for both sides and you remember what it was like to want independence so badly and also what it is like to want some things to never change. The pace is quick and the reader is pulled in to the characters lives as they progress in a very normal, lifey (is that even a word?) sort of way.

Be warned, there is a surprise at the end and no, I am not going to tell you what it is.  2008, 386 pages.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2008 in General Fiction

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
