RSS

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

04 Apr

When picking the required reading for the science fiction genre class I teach at work, I read that if you read only one science fiction title, it must be Ender’s Game.  I was convinced because I trust the source and also, I knew that I really should have read this book a long time ago. I was not disappointed and the discussion we had in the class made me even more convinced that this is an engaging and certainly relevant title.

Ender Wiggin is six years old when he is taken from his family and sent to Battle School. He is thrilled to leave his sadistic older brother Peter and devastated to leave his sister Valentine who protected him and loved him unconditionally.  It is hard to remember that Ender is six as he quickly asserts himself as an intelligent and strong commander and he is promoted quickly. What we come to find out is that his success in the battle games he plays will determine the future of human life on earth.

I always forget how deeply philosophical science fiction is for the reader. It pulls you deeply in and makes you think about the ramifications of who we are and how we interact as a society.  Ender’s story is told by a master storyteller and provides the reader with a provocative view of how individuals make a difference. The pace moves quickly through the exciting action at the battle school and beyond, but readers interested in richly drawn characters who face a deep internal struggle will find much in the mind of Ender.  This is also a story that will appeal to pre-teen and teen readers who will recognize fellow students trying to fit in.  1985, 324 pages.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 4, 2008 in Science Fiction

 

Tags:

One response to “Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

  1. nshadowsong

    April 14, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Most of the sf type materials I’ve read came mostly from video games and graphic novels, so when someone recommended me a sf novel with a cheesy cover of a boy in a space suit floating in a blue room, I was hesitant to begin reading. But when I finally did, I couldn’t put the book down. Ender’s is a fantastic novel and the three following books does appeal to an older audience; the entire Enders series is anything but disappointing. It’s awesome you chose this for the required reading.

     

Leave a Reply

 
