RSS

Graphic Novels…errr what?

16 Oct

graphic.jpgSo, part of my new duties in collection management is purchasing teen graphic novels. I know they are popular. I don’t have a philosophical problem with them. But, I don’t know anything about them either.  From a collection point of view in this public library, I can tell you that manga and anime are hot and American comics are dead.

I’ve finally put a few on hold to see how I do. I thought I would be picky about my first experiences. I promise to keep you posted.

Until then, I’ve read this nifty book called ‘Graphic Novels: Everything you Need to Know’ by Paul Gravett. He does a brief intro to comics and looks at the different complaints about them like they never leave anything for the imagination. It is an interesting read so far but most importantly wanted to share a quote that defines graphic novels in a way I can relate to.

“The graphic novel is not literary fiction’s half-wit cousin, but, more accurately, the mutant sister who can often do everything fiction can, and, just as often, more.” ~Dave Eggers

Rock on!

~Jen

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 16, 2007 in Graphic novels, Young Adult

 

One response to “Graphic Novels…errr what?

  1. Marta

    November 8, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Although I come from a pretty classical literary reading background, there are some graphic novels I have read and loved.

    Anything by Marjane Satrapi. Start with Persepolis, the memoir of a young woman growing up in Tehran — very hip and real.

    Also Maus I and Maus II are a must.

    After these, I think you’ll get the hang of it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
