RSS

The Ultimatum by Susan Kearney

02 Oct

Talk to any woman and you know that there are a lot of things we deal with everyday that could be considered a tough lot in life. Trust me, Alara and her species have us all beat. She has to make love to survive and when her mate dies, so does she. The men on the planet take full advantage. Alara’s goal as a scientist is to find a way to beat this curse and free her kind. Instead Alara is kidnapped by a man of a different species who needs her help to stop a deadly virus. Will Alara be able to give this man her heart? 2006, 360 pages.

I try to be very objective when I write reviews, but this book was a huge stretch for me! Science Fiction & Romance tied together is a foreign concept that I am having trouble adjusting to. That said, this book is hugely popular at my library. I can feel my brain expanding as I type.

The pace is somewhat quick. It is slowed down a bit by the more technical nature that is science fiction. There are new worlds and words to learn as you follow the story. The characters are mostly one-dimensional. You get a glimpse into their inner workings. The frame of space travel and different planets is integral to the combination of genres.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2007 in Romance

 

Leave a Reply

 
